Recently, I had the misfortune of encountering a creepy little crawler that made the mistake of being known to me. Out of sight, out of mind is usually how it goes for me. However, in the pursuit of “conquering my fear” I found that the more I thought of having conquered it the more I started to wonder if the creepy crawler would come back to haunt (read: sit there minding it’s own business) me. The more I thought about it, the more my fear manifested. The more my fear came to the surface, the more I wanted to destroy the little creepy with the fury of an angry god.

With the deed done and my pitiful self still sweating buckets, I have to wonder: What the hell?! Fear truly is a dangerous thing. Even if you logically think about it, you’ll generally follow it’s every whim. This was a sound defeat, ladies and gentlemen. Jokes about me being a pansy aside, the fact that I attacked that creepy crawly in a decidedly… cruel manner is what really freaks me out.

I believe it was said somewhere that someone’s true personality is supposed to come out when they’re afraid, right? This begs for further contemplation…. not to mention figuring out when I became afraid of spiders in the first place….

